Reflections

Interpreting Purely

Having a different perspective of a place to the one generally associated to it is sometimes difficult whilst living there. Having spent the past twenty or so years living away from my native England – returning on average three times per year – I tend to experience England, in part, as a visitor.

It’s funny, when English people learn I live in Italy they immediately tell me how lucky I am as England is on its knees. Italians tell me how great London is, but insist I agree the food is better in Italy.

I don’t know if England is on its knees. Being pedantic, I’d like to see economic and social data for the past three hundred years before drawing any conclusions. In terms of London being great, again it’s a question of comparison with other locations. Personally I love London although I know that doesn’t make it ‘great’. Italian food? Yes, I eat well there, as I have done in England, Israel, Denmark, Spain, etc. and probably will do in every other country I visit in the future.

Making judgements is always a delicate affair. Author, speaker and motivational guru Dr Wayne W. Dyer summed it up as follows: “when you judge another, you do not define them, you define yourself.”

Accepting what is, wherever we are, can ease our days as we live without the stress of constantly comparing everyone and everything around us. Working to improve what we have control over is another thing and I’m all for continuous personal and professional development.

As always I look forward to connecting with you and welcome your e-mails. In the meantime, have a great week, wherever you are.

Ciao for now.

Brian.
www.bgdtcoaching.com

Leave a Reply

