Reflections

Feast on a Sample

Why do I offer free sample sessions? I’ve been pondering this issue for a few weeks.

On the one hand, there’s the argument these sessions permit potential clients to gain a feel of what coaching with me is like. Very true.

On the other hand, as a professional my services and time perhaps shouldn’t be ‘devalued’ by being given away for free. Interesting point.

I’ve always offered them. I believed everyone else did, thinking the sample sessions to be part of some sort of unwritten code of ethics in which potential clients evaluated three or more coaches before choosing the one felt to be the best match for his/her situation. Having selected my two coaches to date in this way the belief seemed to be somewhat self-reinforcing.

As I said, I’ve been pondering this issue and now wish to share my conclusions. For me, coaching isn’t one of those things in which a strict number of sessions is required before benefits are experienced. Indeed, for this reason I prefer to invoice clients at the end of each month for the number of sessions undertaken rather than have them pay money upfront for sessions that might not be required.

If a potential client undergoes a free sample session and then decides not to commit to paid coaching with me that’s okay. I know not everyone will find my coaching style to his or her liking. Perhaps now is not the moment, for whatever reasons, to devote resources to coaching. Possibly the free sample session was enough of a help for them to not warrant further coaching. As Buddha said: “what is is.”

Having the opportunity to spread awareness of coaching is in itself a pleasure for me. As regards receiving money for doing something I love, well, long ago I took to heart the concept which states before we can receive we have to give. Money follows love, as it were. So in fact my offering these sessions has been a way of living up to this value of mine without realizing it.

I can’t end this piece without a call to action. If you’re at a stage of your life where choices seem either non-existent or too numerous for you to handle alone, why not contact me for one of the free sample sessions and let’s discover whether coaching with me can provide you some clarity.

Ciao for now.

Brian.
www.bgdtcoaching.com

Leave a Reply

