Reflections

Being at Home, Working

“There are many truths of which the full meaning cannot be realised until personal experience has brought it home.”

-John Stuart Mill

The journey from a full time freelance trainer, often providing training sessions in up to five different offices in a day, to a home-based worker, with external appointments the exception rather than the norm, has been not only fulfilling – yes and somewhat stressful at times – but also a great learning opportunity for me.

Being disciplined around goals, objectives and a daily structure were well-ingrained habits and offered in themselves a starting point for me to enter into this whole new way of working. Some of the biggest lessons have concerned my attitude towards myself and productivity.

Thinking is working
Ideally everyone thinks during their daily undertakings, though few seem to have dedicated time for this crucial activity. I know at first I found myself feeling guilty if I just sat and thought. Shouldn’t I be ‘doing something?’ was a question very quickly on the scene. Now I can appreciate the quiet times as vital inputs to my working day. The appreciation doesn’t always stop the doubts, but I’m beginning to feel I have the upper hand in the contest.

Others may think what they like
I was used to wearing a tie, carrying a briefcase and ‘being the part’ as it were. To anyone interested, there was no doubt I was ‘working’. At present I am sitting here in an old sweater and jeans. It took a while but now I understand my comfort whilst working at home is more important than attempting to come across as a ‘professional’ to others with whom I may come into contact in the course of the day.

Being local doesn’t stop one being global
Certainly it’s not necessary to be working from home to connect with the world. Many office workers interact around the clock with clients, colleagues and contacts in a variety of worldwide locations. For me, breaking the cycle of daily sessions in one city, Milan, has opened up opportunities to widen my horizon from the much smaller city of Modena. Thanks to Skype and Twitter I now have clients in different time zones and feel part of this great universal much more than ever before.

As with everything, it’s all in constant evolution and it’s all about our perceptions to what is. Other hurdles will present themselves together with learning opportunities. Being open to the whole enchilada as a home-based worker is not always easy, but then neither was schlepping around every day with 10 kilos of training material…

Ciao for now.

7 Responses to Reflections

  1. Dawn says:

    Treasure drinking at the well with you. Renew, replenish … and back out into the wind. And the winds blow as they wish. May it always be so. Fellow travelers humble me.

  2. Kate says:

    Hello Brian what a thoughtful post and how true. I think that you have gone further in the journey of adapting to home working than I have. Still get racked by guilt and doubt so need to learn a bit more of your secret….

    Thanks for sharing, Kate xx

    • bgdtcoaching says:

      Hi Kate, thanks for the kind words. Each day really is a new beginning, although some days never quite getting started… You’re doing so well, I know you’re working with the Big Agenda in sight.
      All the best and keep in touch.
      Brian.

  3. Cyndi says:

    I’m still learning the ropes of working from home myself. Showering at 3pm is not uncommon. So far discipline towards the work is winning the battle over discipline towards my life. It’s a process. I don’t miss the grown-up clothes or corporate culture though. 🙂

    • bgdtcoaching says:

      Hi Cyndi, you are right it’s a process and I would add a learning curve with steep lessons thrown in every now and again. Thanks for connecting, I believe we can all learn together from our various experiences. Ciao for now.

  4. Dawn says:

    Let your clock be set by your own discretion. Let no others perspective interfere with your reality of time.

Leave a Reply

