Reflections

Learning From All Around

“I have learnt silence from the talkative, toleration from the intolerant and kindness from the unkind.”
-Kahlil Gibran

I love those days in which everything comes together and each conversation, interaction, observation and experience in general provides input, ideas and pleasure, or at least reflection.

Like many I carry a notepad and pen with me. Ideas get jotted down throughout the course of the day. Maybe they will find their way into my work, or perhaps into an article here in the future.

Learning silence from the talkative might mean being prepared to listen to the words of others. Toleration comes from the intolerant when I let people express their ideas, even if I don’t agree with them. Kindness comes from the unkind in a similar way. Just recognizing each person is an individual, as I am, is a step to being open to the learning all around.

Yet it isn’t just about what’s ‘out there.’ Being open to learning opportunities to me means being mindful ‘inside’ of the now and being open to receiving the input, as a conscious choice.

Turning the omelette, I wonder what others can learn from me today? Am I the talkative, the intolerant, the unkind? Quite probably, though I don’t consciously desire to be so. A question of perspectives, certainly, and food for thought.

What or who has been your source of learning today? Dare I say hopefully not me?

Thanks for taking time out to read this.

Brian.
www.bgdtcoaching.com

Leave a Reply

