Reflections

Looking at Health

As stated in the previous posting, I’m using August as a time to ‘balance sheet’, observe, review, and evaluate aspects of life. The objective of this holistic, 360° assessment is to use the input to tweak plans and eventual actions for the final quarter of this year.

Starting with the area of health seems right, it’s the foundation on which the other areas of life to be looked over the coming postings are based. By health I’m referring here to general considerations only; aches, pains and suchlike are beyond the scope of this assessment.

Weight
What is my current weight? What would be an ideal weight? One I know I’ll feel comfortable with? What do I need to do to reduce the gap between the two? By when? Will I?

Diet
I’ve more or less cut meat from my diet. Coffee consumption has been reduced considerably recently, making way for caffeine free fruit flavoured herbal drinks. No complaints with the Mediterranean diet I follow. Fresh bread is always a temptation, but a manageable one.

Exercise
A weak point. I am conscious of not regularly practicing sport. Stretching, the occasional jog in the park and getting around town on a bike don’t compensate for the time in front of the computer.

Lifestyle choices
I could write many words on the benefits of meditation, but I won’t. Suffice to say I am happy to have gotten into the habit of connecting with the breath. I’ve never been a smoker. Pollution is something I am conscious of, yet it is supposedly better here in this small town than in the big city in which I lived for many years before coming here.

Overall rating
6 out of 10. What would make it a 7 or 8 out of ten? Certainly some sort of scheduled exercise routine would be good for me and maybe have a positive impact on the weight at the same time. In the competition between the me of now and the me of tomorrow this is probably not a bad start. I love challenges and getting into better shape for the coming quarter is a good goal for me here.

Next time I’ll be looking at fun and recreation. In the meantime, thanks for reading this. If you decide to undertake a similar exercise of balance sheeting your life, I’d love to hear how you get on so feel free to leave a comment below. If you wish to subscribe to this blog please complete the box on the right; respecting your privacy, I will never release your e-mail address to third parties.

Brian.
www.bgdtcoaching.com

2 Responses to Reflections

  1. Sharon says:

    Looking forward to seeing you on Saturday in Brighton. Quick jog around the park before lunch then??

    • bgdtcoaching says:

      Hi Sharon,
      I’m looking forward to seeing you and the family too. The jog sounds good in theory… 😉

Leave a Reply

