Reflections – Completing

My second book dealing with professional development through drama has been published. A quick plug: Elements of theatre at work (ISBN 978-88-8311-770-1) examines a number of ideas associated with the stage, used on a daily basis in the workplace.

Though I could fill many postings on this subject, after all it’s been a significant part of my life for quite a few years, I won’t. Now I’m more interested in looking at the project from a wider perspective, with particular emphasis on the process leading to completion.

It is quite likely each person who undertakes any activity has his or her own structures, method, idiosyncrasies and suchlike, which together bring forth the creativity. Taking the first steps often requires an initial spark. For me this came about with a question asked during a coffee break.

Though not original, it helped me to let people know my goal was to complete the book by the end of 2010. The added pressure of not wanting to ‘lose face’ kept me at the keyboard. As the material deals with potential and performance I had the opportunity to put it all into practice, page by page.

With each chunk of words a base was formed for the next. I had an outline, knew the objective and put down the ideas as they arrived. Sometimes the process moved at a rapid pace, sometimes it didn’t. Blocking off time for writing became an undertaking in its own right.

Starting was good. Taking it forward was eventful. Completing feels wonderful. Finishing what I have begun has always been important to me. However, getting to the end of one thing merely means the commencement of something else.

My desire now is to coach more, return to a schedule weighted in favour of people interaction rather than research and writing. Yes, this depends on others but as always a goal begins with an idea, no?

Quite possibly you have completed something in these days. You might have undertaken a course, perhaps finished a piece of creative work or even done the holiday season shopping. If you’d like to share your input on the issue of completion from any point of view, please leave a comment.

As ever, thanks for being connected here.

Brian.
www.bgdtcoaching.com

Leave a Reply

