Reflections – In Fine Company

“It is better to travel well than to arrive”, said the Buddha.

If I were called upon to describe my life journey to date, I wouldn’t spend too much time reflecting on the places I’ve seen or the number of kilometres clocked up. I’d rather pay respect to some of the people I have met during this adventure so far.

Would I choose to begin in the present or reach back into the past? Certainly some family members span the time horizon. A few friends in the UK can be traced back to the distant days of my youth, and I mustn’t forget my partner as she has stood by me for many years.

A particular couple of friends in Milan have encouraged me, stretched me and believed in me for the past sixteen years or so. It’s amazing how quickly the days and years go by. Newer friends, contacts and people with whom perhaps there has been just a fleeting interaction enrich life too.

More recently, I’m fortunate to have met an incredible group of people on Twitter. For example, Rob (@robjcameron), Dawn (@morsemusings), Heather (@HeatherBestel), Phyllis (@phyllismufson) and Kate (@BeaBetterLeader) are truly inspirational and, together with the other people I’m connected to via this platform, add value to my time spent online.

Thinking about the company of fellow travellers makes me realize we all have the potential to add something to the lives of those we encounter. Do we even acknowledge their presence or are we just, so to speak, concerned with packing the groceries and getting out of the shop?

And, I wonder, are we memorable to them? If yes, positively or negatively? Being aware of each step along the way takes practice and yet when we focus on the journey rather than merely looking to the final destination we might be surprised by the richness of the company travelling with us.

Your taking time to read this today is much appreciated. If you would like to contribute your input on this issue, please leave a comment below. In any case, thanks for being a part of the journey too.

Brian.
www.bgdtcoaching.com

9 Responses to Reflections – In Fine Company

  1. Rob Cameron says:

    Brian, thank you so much for including me within that wonderful group 😉 Likewise, I am so glad that we have been able to connect and strike up such a good relationship despite never ‘physically’ meeting – meeting of minds

    • bgdtcoaching says:

      Thanks Rob, a meeting of minds, yes I like that. That group is indeed pretty special 🙂
      All the best and thanks also for connecting here.

  2. Brian, thank you so much for including me as someone who has enriched your time online. I realised long ago (on my own journey) that we can have an effect on every single person we meet and this has stayed with me ever since.
    I now take time to slow down and enjoy the journey (it wasn’t always this way) and I’m rewarded by getting to have people like you in my life now.
    There are people who I think of often but maybe don’t tell them, you have inspired me (once again) to put this into my practice.
    Many thanks for enriching my life and much love
    Heather xx
    p.s. I’m off to connect with these other incredible peeps x

    • bgdtcoaching says:

      Hi Heather,
      Many thanks for connecting here and sharing your inspiring words. Making the mindful decision to enjoy the journey called life may only take a second but the rewards stay with us forever.
      Hugs and gratitude again to you.

  3. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Brian Groves, Brian Groves, Brian Groves, Kate Mercer, Rob Cameron and others. Rob Cameron said: RT @bgdtcoaching: "It is better to travel well than to arrive" said the Buddha. 'In Fine Company' http://wp.me/pybQ0-aB >TY Brian, mutual 😉 […]

  4. Dawn says:

    What a wonderful atmosphere of warmth you create for me and so many others.

    Thank you for your presence and thoughtfulness Brian. It is an honor to be on this adventure appreciating the richness of it with you. I am truly lucky to have experienced working with you this year.

  5. Hi Brian,

    Good to “meet” you via Twitter and it is lovely to see that we have met, admire and respect some of the same people! fascinating that we have been drawn towards certain people such as Heather, Phyllis and Kate who you mention above!!

    Thank you for your comment on my testimonials. I love working with a wide range of clients from CEO’s to children….all wanting to change something to create greater happiness and success!

    Enriching our own lives and the lives of others is so important and powerful. I am looking forward to sharing with you and with others through Twitter and other maens!

    Have a wonder full weekend Brian

    Best wishes

    Bridget 😉

  6. bgdtcoaching says:

    Hi Bridget,

    Many thanks for reaching out and connecting here. We are fortunate to be surrounded by so many interesting people.

    Looking forward to interacting further, in the meantime best wishes to you too for a great weekend.

    Brian.

Leave a Reply

