Reflections – Flowing Naturally

As life evolves with projects starting and finishing, the possibility of having all things slot neatly into place simultaneously seems to diminish. Though perfect in its own way, life can be messy.

Occasionally I feel like a circus performer spinning plates on poles: running from one thing to another, maintaining momentum for numerous activities, risking to have all come crashing down if I dare stop.

And it’s easy to fall into the trap of self-importance. Without my intervention surely the world, together with the plates, would stop spinning, no?

Perhaps I need to remember more often the Polish proverb I came across some years back: “Do not push the river, it will flow by itself.”

My frantic behaviour serves nobody, it just adds to the chaotic nature of modern living. Stepping back at times, and just letting things be, may lead to greater insights into what ought to be getting my attention as I see the bigger picture.

So which plates should be spun? Making wise, ethical and disciplined choices – aiming for a middle path between all or none – ideally means tuning into the potential of life and tapping into already present resources to achieve one’s best.

Some plates might indeed fall, but then this could be life’s way of saying I’m spreading my efforts across too many endeavours. The river really does flow without my intervention.

When I listen to my heart I know what needs doing. Such actions will flow like the river. Anything else just spins around.

Well, that’s how I see things right now. I’m sure you have your own ways of moving forward. If you care to share your input here, please leave a comment below.

Thanks for taking time to read this today.

Brian.
www.bgdtcoaching.com

2 Responses to Reflections – Flowing Naturally

  1. Dawn says:

    In this last year, I’ve been working on my ability not to take care of everything and everyone. Some don’t like it as much as I do.

    Yes. It’s messy, it’s even murky at times. Thank you for helping me remember it’s not all up too me. I just need to be me.

    • bgdtcoaching says:

      Hi Dawn,

      The stepping back can be difficult for us and others at times but it provides the space to see more. Accepting who we are is big and, I believe, is a great starting point from which we can flourish further.

      Thanks and hugs for connecting Dawn.

      Brian.

Leave a Reply

