Reflections – Impact of Words

Of the many great things about living in a country in which the main language is not my own, I find two aspects of the impact of words in everyday situations particularly interesting.

Impact of words: vocabulary

After many years, though not fluent, I am able to make myself understood in Italian. Yet I have come to appreciate those split seconds taken to grasp the right word before uttering them. Words are selected for a purpose or impact, rather than just rattled off as I might do so in English.

Impact of words: comprehension

Whether it’s natural curiosity or because I have needed to concentrate greatly to understand spoken Italian, today I tend to pay careful attention to the words of others, be they in English or in Italian.

Listening to a ‘foreign’ language is also great coaching practice as I get to develop my ear for the choice of words used by people, as well as for their pauses and hesitations.

Yes, at times words might take on more importance than the speaker intended, but that could be me misunderstanding them.

Closing this reflection on the impact of words, let me just quote the words attributed to the Greek tragic playwright Sophocles: “One word frees us of all the weight and pain of life, that word is love.”

Thanks for reading this today. If you would like to offer your input on the issue of words and how they impact on you, please feel free to leave a comment below.

Brian.

 www.bgdtcoaching.com

2 Responses to Reflections – Impact of Words

  1. dee blick says:

    Lovely post.

    I earn my living through words, or more precisely, the way in which I construct copy, deliver talks and workshops, help clients with their marketing. As an author I agonise over words too – often wrestling many times with a paragraph until I am happy with it. I have favourite words..erudite, charming, articulate, compelling, disingenuous to name but a few. I love the fact that a few well chosen words can have a massive impact within the context of moving someone to want to do business with you – despite the fact that before they read your passionate prose they were none the wiser of your presence and their need for what you offer! I appreciate that I am sharing from a narrow perspective but it is my take on words for today that is…. Love ’em!

  2. bgdtcoaching says:

    Hi Dee,

    Many thanks for your kinds words and indeed for connecting here, I really appreciate your perspective on this issue.

    Much gratitude to you.

    Brian.

Leave a Reply

